Created in Midjourney

How Much Should You Niche Down on Medium?

I’m about to find out

2 min readJun 3, 2024

--

I’ve been going back and forth on this decision for the past month.

I‘ve been feeling a great urge to branch out and write about more than just atomic content.

But I also know this isn’t a decision to make lightly. So I’ve been carefully considering all of my options.

Create multiple Medium accounts, one for each niche.

Forget the added expense. I spent years managing multiple social media brands simultaneously. I’m not keen to do that again.

Use a platform other than Medium for the other topics.

I could move to Substack. At least it has a built in community unlike a self hosted WordPress blog.

But I love writing on Medium and would like to continue to do so.

Branch out on the topics I write about here.

It’s the most practical solution. At the same time, I don’t want to alienate my current readers.

That’s when I had the idea to niche around an idea rather than a topic.

My new niche centers around my belief that knowledge and ideas are the currency of the digital

--

--

Using my mind garden to build a business writing online. Get your free Mind Garden Starter Kit at http://growyourmind.org